This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rants and first impressions after 1st week.
I am using 1.8 of tinker OS

Well, my first impressions have been mostly disappointing.
I am not a pro but I have had success with RPi and my Linux HTPC.
To start, I am first trying to use this as a "Daily driver" for email,youtube etc. I'm trying to not use my 1200w gaming PC to check my mail and watch cat videos. This board looks amazing, on paper.I want to like this board but...

cons: 

The random logout problem drove me nuts until i fixed that,sorta. If I do get the log in screen it will not accept ANY username/password so I have to reboot.

I cannot get headphones working properly with a microphone, analog or bluetooth. I can get my G930's to play sound with the included dongle but no mic.
I can get my H600's to connect via bluetooth but when I select them in the mixer, Pulse Audio reboots and the H600's disappear from the list.

Youtube video playback in full screen is just awful at 1080 or even 720p. My old RPi2 was smooth.

Twitch is unwatchable as well, it just buffers...

It has a difficulty setting the time to my network, sometimes it works right away and sometime I have to fiddle with it. Wired or wireless. I may get a RTC for it from Adafruit.

Can't seem to get Samba working so far but i'm looking into that.